Spicy Flank Steak with Mango Salsa

Now that the weather is getting warmer, we are hoping to grill more.  To me nothing is better than a perfectly seasoned, grilled piece of flank steak!   Ever since I have been doing the 21 day fix I have been searching out meal ideas from Pinterest and other places on the internet.  I don’t usually follow anyone else’s recipes.  I like to make each recipe my own and I pretty much wing it whether it be changing up ingredients and using things that I know my family will like in place of their ingredients.  I did that with this really flavorful flank steak and mango salsa!   If you like a little heat and lots of flavor then this is definitely for you!   Besides it is so easy to toss together!!

13010760_10206109316231315_5669720949149961809_n

Ingredients: (Marinade for steak)

2 Tablespoons Garlic Chili paste

2 tablespoons avocado oil

1 tablespoon black peppercorns, crushed

1 tablespoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon coarse sea salt

1 lime (juiced)

2 lbs flank steak

 Directions:

Mixed above ingredients together well in a small bowl and stir together well.  Coat flank steak with the marinade.  I like to put it in a zip top bag and massage it in the steak till every inch is covered, then lay flat and refrigerate for a minimum of 30 minutes.

Next is to make the sweet & spicy mango salsa to top the steak with.

Ingredients: (for the salsa)

1 large ripe mango (peeled, seeded and diced)

1/4 cup fresh cilantro (chopped)

2 tablespoons fresh squeezed lime juice

1 tablespoon garlic chili paste

1 clove garlic (minced)

1/2 Red onion (Diced)

1/2 Jalapeno (seeded and minced)

Mix all the salsa ingredients in a bowl, cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Grill your steak and top with the mango salsa!!  I served ours on this night with some roasted sweet potatoes and buttered corn.   This will definitely be in our rotation of meals for the summer!!


I love comments so please leave a reply